Memory Lane

When I was young a local business, I think it was a realtor actually, in my community had a colouring contest. I don’t remember all the exact details but I do remember first prize being a trip to Disneyland and second prize was, at the time the awesomest thing I had ever seen in my life; a perfectly sick chrome BMX with anodized parts. I can’t remember what brand or anything because that stuff didn’t matter back then but it looked exactly like something Cru rode in RAD!.  I stared at it every time we went by. It was the only time in my life I ever wanted to come in second place at anything. I grabbed an entry and coloured my ass off. ‘Stay in the lines dog, stay in the lines’ I told myself. Meticulously picking my colour scheme for whatever the picture was along the way.

I didn’t win the contest, what bummed me out more was I didn’t come second either. I think that was one of my earliest memories of bike lust. I can still see it in my head when I close my eyes. If you ride, you know and you’ll remember the first super sick bike you saw hanging or leaning or being ridden somewhere and it was on, you were hooked and you wanted it and that was that.

Leave a comment